Rolly’s instruction hits the big time! :^)

In 2006, I had some spare time one day and thought, “Hey, maybe I’ll make a little video and put it on Youtube. I called it “240 chords in 6 minutes”, and, while its 100,000+ hits don’t match the view numbers of talking dog videos or Andy McKee’s “Driftin'”, it reached exponentially more people than I’d reached in my previous 37 years of guitar teaching. In the video, I mentioned that there would eventually be a full length DVD covering the material in more depth. That day has finally come, with the help of Stefan Grossman’s Guitar Workshop. We embarked on a series of five DVD’s, and the first two are now available at Stefan’s website.

The introductory material is now posted on Youtube for the first two videos. One is “A Nuts And Bolts Approach To Chords”.

The other is “A Nuts And Bolts Approach To Melody”. These videos have allowed me to go into much greater depth, and I’ve been able to teach many easy little tricks for improving your playing!

Stefan has also posted an extended interview with some performance. Hope you enjoy watching it.

Still in the pipeline: DVD’s on the Nuts and Bolts Approach to improvisation, solo flatpicking, and “owning” a jazz standard. Stay tuned and enjoy!

Posted on March 15, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Congratulations on this, Rolly! You went over the 240 chords system with us at Swannanoa last year and it revolutionized my guitar playing! I’ll definitely be ordering the videos!! (See you at Swanny again this year — I’m registered for another class with you!

    –James Sennett

  2. these look like great lessons! thank you very much, I will definitely get them!
    in SGGW, it says the the “chords” lesson is geared toward swing/jazz music proficiency. is the “melody” lesson more bluesy?

    thanks again!
    Zohar

  3. thank you very much, Rolly.
    I am now in the midst of Ernie Hawkins CAGED lessons, and after that I will get you lesson!
    I feel privileged to learn from you!

    thanks

  4. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your webpage?
    My website is iin the exact same niche as yours and myy
    users would really benefit from a lot of the information you provide here.
    Plezse let mee know if this okay with you. Regards!

Leave a Reply

